Pasifika Crowds

While I had my fair share of soups (all home-made of course) during the winter, spring & summer for me means smoothie time. Well actually it’s more like soup/smoothie time.

The difference I guess you could say are that soups are warm/hot with animal protein as an option & smoothies are cool/chilled . Seriously though I don’t think there is a real difference between a soup & smoothie except for the meat. Whether it’s hold or cold isn’t important. As long as it tastes good. Of course with warmer temperatures here in the southern hemisphere I definitely prefer a cold drink ;-).

I usually make my smoothies fat based (you can call them ketogenic). So I’ll start with a cup of home-made coconut milk, add 2 Tbsp of home-made ghee, 1 Tbsp MCT oil, 1 heaped tsp of organic cinnamon, juice of 1 lemon, 100g of steamed green leafy vegetables of choice (I use either cavolo nero kale, spinach, silver beet, broccoli, cauliflower, or I mix them up), 5g of ginger, a very small amount of garlic <3g, & a handful of coriander & parsley as well as a pinch of salt. After a workout I add a stalk of celery, a huge piece of cucumber (over 100g), & sometimes a handful of almond/macadamia nuts.

What I’ve been doing the past week is turn my smoothies into soupies. So instead of just coconut milk I use 200g of home-made bone broth & 50g of coconut milk as the base. I heat up the bone broth first & add some salt to this. The broth really brings out different flavour profiles as you’d imagine & feels really hearty & welcoming after a hard days work. I prefer the cool smoothie in the morning & the warm soupie at night. Just feels right you know what I’m saying?

Anyhoo, I’d like to switch to a topic that should interest most stressed out individuals – stress, duh. More importantly the idea that we can reduce our personal levels of stress by “sharing the load” & removing “stinkin’ thinkin’”. What do I mean by that?

Let me give a personal example of me & my mum. My mum’s from the Cooks Islands, specifically the northern island of Pukapuka. There’s a huge Pukapukan community based in Auckland where we live, but the both of us haven’t been a part of the community the past two years. By this I mean we haven’t been participating or showing our faces at special events like fundraising. It isn’t that we’re trying to distance ourselves it’s just life getting in the way as they say.

I have been busy working, studying health & holistic living, & sticking to my real food & holistic lifestyle reset. Mum works pretty much 24/7, well it seems that way, & the both of us have felt the stress & grind of everyday living & each day is becoming business as usual.

I am making a documentary about traditional ways of living & the fact that I’m from a culture who once were warriors & is steeped in tradition I really wanted to get back with my Pukapukan roots, but not just for this reason.

Over the past few months I’ve had this insatiable urge to just connect with people & who better to connect with first than your own people. So I visited the community hall this week during one of the fundraising events & asked mum if she wasn’t too tired would she like to come & she said yes.

Once we got there & saw the relatives & friends we hadn’t seen in a long time the transformation in me & mum was quite phenomenal. She settled on one side of the hall catching up with her cousins & I was on the other side catching up with my cousins, tables were set up in the middle of the hall for people to play cards, there was a live band at the front of the hall playing traditional Pukapukan music, there were two plates of food at the back near the kitchen being sold for the fundraising one consisting of two portions of meat, island chop suey, island mayonnaise, & maniota, the other plate being home-made pineapple pie.

While all this was going on I couldn’t help but realise how happy I felt & how any stress I had with me before arriving at the hall just disappeared. I glanced over at mum & could see her smiling & moving to the music in her chair & thinking to myself… whoa, she looks different. Look at her. She looks just like how I feel… at peace.

It really is this simple. As I’ve mentioned before to live holistically healthy we need to connect with nature. This includes the Earth & our natural environment, plants, animals, & other human beings. If you want to be happy & stress free visit an old friend, participate regularly in your community, & keep in touch with the important people in your life.

By connecting & being social with others you reduce the burden of everyday life that builds up over time. You don’t hand it off to anyone. It just reduces to the point where it eventually disappears. The effect stress has on you lessens & goes away over time due to the fact that you’re no longer thinking about it. It is our thoughts that give power to anything & everything in our life. If you think about your life as stressful, it’ll be stressful. If you’re enjoying life than life is enjoyable.

The way you think influences the way you feel. Pure & simple.

So the next time life is beating you to the ground. Forget about it! Meet up with a group of people who you know will make you forget about it. In the blink of an eye life is no longer beating on you, but you’re winning in the game of life.

Peace & take care out there.

